Our History


Church History

JUNE 29, 1941 Sunday School was held in the yard of Mr. & Mrs. Settle at 216 Harrison Street.  They made benches of planks for the people to sit on.

December 1941 A lot was purchased from D. W. Harrison.  A deposit of $50.00 was paid down on the lot.  

February 1942 Church was organized with 13 members present.  The first Deacons, W. H. Settle and Harry Tweed were ordained.  Mr. Bert Buckner ordained as a minister of the Gospel.  Mr. J.B. (Pee Wee) Gibson was elected as the first pastor.  

February 1958 The church borrowed $3,500.00 from Swannanoa Bank & Trust Company to build a new church.  The new church was built around the old church and the old church was torn down and thrown out through the windows.  

December 25, 1958 The new church building was dedicated to the Lord.

September 9, 1973 The church purchased a parsonage on 129 Fountain Way.

March 17, 1975 The Mahaffey wing and fellowship all were dedicated to the Lord.  

August 2003 New addition to the front of the church was added.

Pastors of Swannanoa Heights Baptist Church

J.B. Gibson
Clyde Parham (1942-1945)
Rex Adkins
Tommy Harper
John Crane
John Wright (1948-1965)
Martin Pittman (1965-1969)
Charles Duvall (1969-1980)
B.P. Boyle (1980-2006)
Johnny Wright (2006-2008)
Bruce Robinson (2008-present)